Don’t lose sight of who you are!

AC DC Concert Stage (Montreal) - Colorful Lights

AC DC Concert Stage (Montreal) – Colorful Lights (Photo credit: Anirudh Koul)

A couple a days ago, I went for the first time in my life to a stadium concert. So far I’ve only enjoyed small concerts in small venues. A celebrity singer was on tour and as I never got the chance to see him on tour I decided to go enjoy a real show.

I was expecting a real treat, because he is a professional and the organizers are obviously professionals, I was not expecting bad sounding or a nasty crowd. The show did not disappoint me at all. They do know to do their job.

However, several small events clouded my day and really made me wonder about people in general.

Before I entered the stadium, I was queuing with my friend at the gates, as were other fans. Everyone seemed happy and really in the mood to enjoy the show. When the doors opened, however, people started to act a bit crazy. They were pushing each other and screaming. I felt as we were attacked by some unknown enemy. A woman cut the queue right in front of me and when I brought it to her attention in a calm manner, she started to scream ” You are horrible!!” so I let her go as not to get into a fight. I did come to have a good time. If she will be in front of me, it does not really matter.

As I passed the gate and reached the stadium, people started to push more in and even if you wanted to stop walking, you couldn’t. It was like being trapped in a river. The security guards were telling people to slow down, but it seemed more like a challenge to them as the crowd become more and more furious. I started to wonder if I’ll come out alive from this story.

Finally the crowd spread and I saw my friend close to the stage. Happily I went towards her. She was really in the front line and I was just behind her. I was happy and ready to enjoy the show…when suddenly the two girls that were standing on each side of my friend started screaming  “You are pushing iiiiin!!!”

My friend was confused and told them confused that she is not pushing in. ( Later on she told me that the girls were trying to push her with their bodies so she will lose her place in the line). I looked confused at her, knowing she was not pushing and seeing clearly that the girls were ganging up on her. I asked them what is the issue and all I got was some screaming and curses. Finally after the girls a good session of the girls continuing with their banter I told my friend that this whole thing is not worth it and I was ready to leave the concert.  My friend told the girls ”  I came here for a good time. But if you really want my place, you can have it. I want to enjoy the show, not fight.” She got no thanks, just some arrogant looks.

After this story, maybe I could say the singer and the show saved the day, but this whole story made me think about society. How when you turn on the TV or the radio, you are told to live life to the fullest, carpe diem, follow your dreams, be your self. How everyone posts on Twitter, Facebook and other social media websites all sorts of motivational quotes as to encourage you to be a better person. Western media is sure full of this messages.

So I started to wonder, do any of these messages go to our minds? How many people are affected by these messages? There are many reports saying that violence in the movies affected us. But there are plenty of feel good movie out there, too. So, how did these movies affect us? Are we just taking the bad and leaving the good in messages? If you pass through life, having all the opportunities that western life offers you and you still can’t enjoy a special moment such as a concert, where did the Western civilization go wrong?

There are so many good examples of people ( Dobri Dobrev is a good example) that managed to get through life with little and help others and be happy. So, why can’t some people still not be happy when they have everything they need? Does money really bring happiness? I believe people should not forget who they are, to enjoy their time spent on this earth. I also believe happiness comes from helping others and being nice to others. It’s all karma in the end.

Leave a Reply

